About Campaign Finance

Statutory Authority Chapter 130, RSMo. This guide is intended only as a summary to aid understanding of the Campaign Finance Disclosure Law. Please consult the law itself.


Steps for Complying with Campaign Finance Requirements

Step 1: Identify The Committee Type  (Click here to Show/Hide more information)

Step 2: Form The Committee Within The Required Time Frame  (Click here to Show/Hide more information)

Step 3: Register The Committee
File a Statement of Committee Organization (MO 300-1308) within 20 days after the person/group becomes a committee and no later than the first disclosure report deadline. The type of office sought determines where the Statement of Committee Organization is filed. This form must have original signatures and can either be mailed or hand delivered.

Step 4: Identify Where To File The Campaign Finance Reports  (Click here to Show/Hide more information)

Step 5: File Campaign Finance Reports
All persons/committees required to form a campaign finance committee and file a Statement of Committee Organization must file subsequent campaign finance disclosure reports as required.

A committee discloses its campaign finances on campaign disclosure reporting statements, consisting of either a:
  • Statement of Limited Activity; or
  • Full Disclosure
The Commission provides an electronic filing system for all reporting done with the Commission. A committee must file a Statement of Committee Organization form with all filing entities and an Electronic Filing Agreement (if required), found under Committee Registration Packet, with Missouri Ethics Commission to obtain a MEC ID# and password.

Click here for committee filing dates.

Step 6: Amending Committee Information
An Amended Statement of Committee Organization must be filed any time the required information is changed within 20 days of the change, but no later than the date of the filing of the next report required to be filed by that committee. The treasurer and candidate (for a candidate committee) must sign the form. The Amended Statement must contain original signatures and can be mailed or hand delivered to the Missouri Ethics Commission.

Step 7: Distribute Any Remaining Funds And Dissolve Any Debt
See §130.034 RSMo. for allowable uses of contribution.

Step 8: Terminate The Committee
Within ten days of committee dissolution, file a Committee Termination Statement (MO 300-1317) and a full disclosure report for the time period through the closing date. The termination statement must include the disposition of remaining funds (surplus or deficit) and the name, mailing address, and telephone number of the responsible person for maintaining committee records and accounts.

Return To Top
Committee Reporting Requirements for Contributions Received

Contributions are funds (including loans), goods, and services donated to a committee and include a candidate's own funds or property. (See §130.011 RSMo. for full definition of contribution.) Any funds received by the committee must be deposited in the committee’s official bank account (depository). All contributions and other receipts received by a committee are reported electronically (or on the Contributions and Loans Received (MO 300-1312) for local filers). Specific contribution reporting requirements include  (Click here to Show/Hide more information)

Return To Top
Contributions Prohibited to be Received by a Committee

Contributions a committee cannot receive include:
  • Cash contributions over $100
  • Contributions totaling more than $25 from a person without the name, address, and employer/occupation of each person making the contribution
  • Anonymous contributions, for the entire calendar year, exceeding the greater of $500 or 1% of the total amount of all contributions received by the committee in that same calendar year
Return To Top
Committee Requirements for Returning Contributions Received

A contribution can only be returned to the donor within ten (10) business days after the contribution is received or transmitted to the state treasurer.

Return To Top
Campaign Material Identification Requirements

Printed Matter - What is it? Pamphlets, circulars, handbills, sample ballots, advertisements (including newspapers/periodicals), signs (including signs for display on motor vehicles), or other imprinted or lettered materials. Items excluded as printed matter include items used for personal use given away or sold, (i.e. campaign buttons, pencils, or clothing) which is paid for by a candidate or committee, is obvious in its identification with specific candidate/committee and the costs of which is reported as required by law .

Printed Matter Identification - Who must comply? Any person publishing, circulating, or distributing printed material about a candidate for public office or a ballot measure within Missouri.

Printed Matter Identification - What must it say? On of the face of the printed matter, in a clear and conspicuous manner, it must specifically state "Paid for by" with the sponsor's proper identification as indicated in the following manner (Click here to Show/Hide more information)

TV & Radio: If you are a broadcast station transmitting matter about a candidate or ballot measure, you must provide sponsor identification in accordance with federal laws.

Federal Campaign Laws: If you are a person causing matter to be printed or broadcast about federal candidates, you must provide sponsor identification in accordance with federal laws.

Return To Top